Ribbon Skirt Tutorial

I recently got a cool opportunity to come up with an idea for my favorite ribbon company, May Arts.  Their selections of ribbons is so extensive.  Everything from pretty stitched cottons, pastel velvets and laces to rolls of chiffon flowers.  So you can imagine the challenge of limiting my imagination to one project.

I kept coming back to their wide canvas like ribbon that comes in bright poppy colors and the twill tapes.  I love the freshness of the palette.  So I thought it would be fun to use them to make a skirt.  In a way you are using the ribbon to create your own fabric!  I used a simple white cotton as the backing, but you could also recycle an old sheet.  Once I got the measurements down it was pretty easy.  The result is modern, crisp and preppy.  Like a stylish tennis skirt.   Check it out and give it a try. For a super quick ribbon fix start out with super simple headband.

I got our pretty gal holly to show it off.  Thanks, girl!

5 thoughts on “Ribbon Skirt Tutorial

  1. Pingback: May Arts DT applicant review | Sandy Allnock

  2. Really love this. I would like to see a step by step tutorial for this. I find I am able to follow better if I am able to print it out on my computer and go step by step. (thanks)
    I love, love the ribbon choices you used. And I love that you could use a sheet as the backing! Very creative 🙂 Pam

Leave a Reply

